Dan Mynard Q&A

Dan Mynard is an artist and illustrator living in London, who worked with Persian Cat Press on our first picture book app, The Gift. Dan insists that his favourite animals are penguins.

Could you explain the work you did on The Gift? How long have you been working on the project?

Dan Mynard: “I was the illustrator on the project, which meant I had the privilege of bringing The Gift story to life with the help of my oil paints. I think I worked on the Gift for about eight months in all.”

How did you first come into contact with Persian Cat Press?

“Jos Carlye, the Creative Director at Persian Cat Press, got in contact with me after seeing my paintings on my website.”

Have you had much experience of the world of apps before? How do you like it?

“This has been my first time my paintings have been used in an app so I’ve had no experience of it really. It was a bit odd not completing any of the illustrations as a flat image at first, but once I got my head around that I really enjoyed it.”

What’s your favourite thing about working with Persian Cat Press?

“The feedback has been superb. And of course the story was ace, and it gave me a lot to work with. Another thing that I have been really pleased with is that I was actually approached in the first place – most of my previous work has a darker edge and it’s a great credit to Persian Cat Press that my practice hasn’t been pigeonholed and you guys saw the potential of my paintings for this story.”

Are you happy with how your work on The Gift turned out?

“It was the biggest professional challenge I’ve had so far but I think I pulled it off. I may be a bit biased. I’m looking forward to finding out what children and their parents think – or even overgrown children like myself.”

What have you got coming up next Dan?

“Well, I have a series of paintings studying various family members that I started a while ago which I will be getting on with, much to their displeasure.

“As well as this, I will continue with a series of paintings around the adventure of two characters, one a boy called Mr Dan and the other a giant marshmallow creature called Mr Malky.

“In the long run, I plan to exhibit these paintings and have them curated into a picture book format. But since I have to drop these paintings whenever any actual paid work comes my way, the end of this project could be a long time coming.”

The Gift will be available in the App Store and iTunes in January 2012. Visit Dan Mynard’s website here and find more information about Dan here.

UPDATE: You can now download The Gift here.

2 thoughts on “Dan Mynard Q&A

  1. Greetings Dan!
    I wanted to take the time to let you know just how much your BEAUTIFUL illustrations are appreciated. Your work is stunning! My boys and I especially loved the pages that panned, it created a beautiful 3-D effect. This app to me, is truly a work of art and I am so pleased to add this treasure into our digital collection. Looking forward to seeing more of your stunning work in the future! All the best…
    Sincerely,
    Kate Stinnett

  2. Hi Kate
    Thanks for the lovely comment, that’s very sweet of you.
    Nice to know that you and your boys are enjoying The Gift and that my painting does the story justice.
    I wish you and your family all the best for the future.
    Warm regards
    Dan

Leave a Reply

